After a hugely successful 2017 campaign, the Motor Racing Australia season will draw to a close this Sunday at Goulburn’s Wakefield Park Raceway.

As has been the case all season, Sunday will see a huge turnout of competitors across six racing categories, along with the driver competing in Regularity.

Headlining the program on Championship Sunday will be the ever present Super TT’s, and also the penultimate round of the Pitcher Partners NSW APRA Series, which, like the MRA itself, resumes after a two-month break.

No less than thirty-one cars will contest the 5th round of the APRA series, which is, not only the penultimate round of the season, but also the last of the sprint rounds before the December enduro outing.

You can read more on this weekend’s Pitcher Partners APRA outing HERE.

The biggest Super TT field of the season will greet the starter on Sunday morning, with thirty-seven cars entered for the final hit-out of the season.

Jimmy Tran is a comfortable outright championship leader heading into this final round, and that’s even on count back, after dropping his worst performance of the season.

No less than sixty competitors have contested the 2017 Super TT Series, across the four classes.

Jimmy Tran is also the class leader in Over 2 Litre Treaded (195), ahead of Julian Burke (146) and Brad Bassett (89).
Endree Saade (132) leads the Over 2 Litre Slicks division, ahead of Dennis Walker (113) and Mark Boudib (98).

Troy Derwent has an unassailable lead in the Under 2 Litre Slicks division, while Parry Anastakis (168) has a fight on his hands in the Under 2 Litre Treaded class. Just six points separate he and John Taylor (162) in the battle for the win, with Darren Harris running third on 103 points.

The ever popular Alfa Veloce Series returns to the program this Sunday, with 11 cars lining up for the three-race program, which is their first appearance on the MRA schedule for 2017.

Elsewhere, regular racers, John Markwick and Bryan Sciberras will run their Hyundai Excels in a 20-car Regularity field.
The breakaway Clubman series will wrap their first season of competition on Sunday, with thirteen drivers competing in the three-race program.
Last time out, David Thirlwall took victory in all three races, ahead of Brett Lansley and Ben Jensen.

The Mazda MX5 Cup will be decided on Sunday as well. The man with the momentum is Verne Johnson, who got the better of Cameron Macarthur and Todd Herring in the last round of the series, winning all three races.

Last, but certainly not least, are loyal series supporters, the Superkarts.

Sunday won’t be the last round of the SuperKart season, but a field of 25 greeting the starter.

The last time the Superkarts appeared on the MRA card, was back in June, when the series visited the North Circuit at Sydney Motorsport Park. There, we saw three different race winners, with Mark Robin, John Pellicano and Paul Campbell all claiming victory across the course of the day.

Expect those three to be strong again, while also facing stiff competition from Mark Vickers and Laurie Fooks, and of course, there will be class battles unfolding right across the track as well.

After a wonderful season of racing, the off-season will commence at the end of the meeting on Sunday afternoon, and that’s just about perfect timing for our series organiser, Terry Denovan, who welcomed baby number 3 into the world earlier this week.
Congratulations to Terry and Danielle on the safe arrival of Olivia Grace.

MRA will be back, bigger and better than ever in 2018, but first, 2017 will finish on a high, with a full day of action, starting from 9am, with FREE admission for spectators.